Cookie Consent by TermsFeed
Life stages ages

You’re probably thinking there are 3 life stages: childhood, adulthood and the elderly years.

In reality, there are many stages of life, but in this post, we’re focusing on the main 7. Knowing which stage of life you’re in now could help you find a way through challenging decisions or events to come.

7 Life Stages:

    1. Infancy and Toddlerhood
    2. Early Childhood
    3. Middle Childhood
    4. Adolescence
    5. Early Adulthood
    6. Middle Adulthood
    7. Late Adulthood
    • Death and Dying

The 7 Distinct Stages of Life

There are 7 distinct stages we experience throughout our lives. We experience them equally, it makes no difference about our careers, accomplishments, or how much wealth we have.

Also, there is no order to complete each stage, one does not come before the other. We can jump in or out of one stage to the next at different periods of our life.

1 – 4 Infancy and Toddlerhood

The infancy stage is the beginning of human development, both physically and mentally. It’s the period we increase control over our bodies. However, at this stage, we are solely dependent upon others (parental guidance) to take care of our needs.

Developing infants learn confidence and trust in those supporting their needs. Parenting skills are crucial at this stage for a child to be loved and nurtured, it is all about trust and bond.

During this early stage, young children begin to explore and increasingly develop their sense of independence. As they grow, they learn decision skills and how their actions may have consequences based on their decision. Throughout this period, they develop a sense of self-awareness.

Under 17 – The Child Stage

Life stage child

As adults we sometimes look back and wish to be a child again – the freedom of doing want you want when you want is something we take for granted as kids. Being able to play, have someone else take care of you and the only worry was when your homework was due. During the child stage, we are much more open to imagination, exaggerations and grandiose plans for life. Everything is achievable and nothing is forbidden.

Age 18-26 – The Autonomous Stage

Teenagers Life Stage

Young adulthood generally leaves us seeking some kind of independence, whether that’s leaving home, getting your own car or working on creating a savings account. This life stage is for understanding your core foundations and experimenting with relationships, friendships and career options. Solid commitments are very rare in this life stage as our focus is rested on the future and how we’re going to get from point A to point B.

Age 27-31 – The Adult Transition Stage

Adult Transition Stage

This is the stage of questioning the journey we’ve had so far and whether it’s really set you on the path you want to travel. If it is, this is a stage of life for making lifelong commitments to jobs, partners and other key elements in your life that you want to maintain. If not, you arrive at a crossroads, an important decision on whether you follow the path or move off it.

Age 32-42 – The Commitment Stage

Commitment Stage

So you’ve made your choices during the adult transition stage and by now those choices have become permanent aspects in your life. These commitments may make you wonder whether you’ve made the right choices for yourself and your family. This stage is also widely known as the ‘Mid-Life Crisis’ stage, where many experience anxiety or question their previous choices.

Age 49-65 – The Self-Awareness Stage

Self-Awareness Stage

Once you’re over the commitment stage hump, it can be very smooth sailing. In this life stage, there’s no more time for trying to impress others or feeling compelled to compete. This stage is generally used for reflection on the journey and what matters to us most now whether that’s a family, community, or building a legacy.

Age 66 and over – The Spiritual Journey Stage

Spiritual Journey Stage

This life stage is for finalizing our journey and reviewing our ups, downs, achievements and failures. This stage is for understanding who we truly are which can take the rest of our lives. Coming to terms with our mortality can help us reach for spiritual enlightenment, and pass on the wisdom of a long life lived to younger generations.

Whatever life stage you are in, it’s all about living a life full of love, laughter, good intentions and ultimately, things that make you happy. Remember, Stay fit

You may also like


Views On Democracy or: How I learned to stop worrying and love the Kali Yuga


Note: This is a work of satire and is not meant to be taken seriously.

Modernity is a strange thing, but how can we perceive if something is strange if you were born in it and never experienced anything different? In the modern west, we are made to celebrate and indulge in our collective “freedoms” and “liberation”.

But what exactly does this mean?

After the end of the second world war, there was a massive push to eradicate any form of organized power that would be considered fascistic or oppressive in order to avoid the tragedies of years past.

This mostly took part in either the suppression of organized groups, whether political or intellectual and the re-engineering of the public consciousness through mass media and education.

The new world of egalitarianism and social liberation was readily praised above all else and anything hinting of criticism or denouncement of such was linked and therefore outcast…

Read More